Second Round of Finalists Announced: Ontario Tourism Awards of Excellence

We're happy to announce the second round of finalists for this year's Ontario Tourism Awards!

The Tourism Marketing and Travel Media Awards of Excellence celebrate excellence and innovation of those who contribute to Ontario’s tourism industry through impactful tourism partnerships, marketing activities and media relations provincially, nationally and internationally.

The Culinary Tourism Awards of Excellence recognize those who work hard to tell the stories of Ontario’s growers, producers, chefs, winemakers and brewers, and their dedication to advancing the culinary tourism movement in Ontario.

The Tourism Industry Awards of Excellence (previously announced on Sept. 11) are presented to organizations, businesses and individuals that represent the quality of offerings that make Ontario a destination of choice—innovations, events, employers and the tourism champions who make it all possible.

Award winners will be announced on November 7 at the Ontario Tourism Summit in Niagara Falls.


Tourism Marketing and Travel Media Awards of Excellence (OTMPC)

Tourism Marketing Campaign Award Under 50K

Elgin County Tourism

Tourism Hamilton

Peterborough & the Kawarthas Tourism

Tourism Marketing Campaign Award Over 50K

Ottawa Tourism

Resorts of Ontario, Central Counties Tourism (RTO 6), BruceGreySimcoe (RTO 7) and Kawarthas Northumberland (RTO 8)

Kingston Accommodation Partners

Tourism Print Collateral Award

Tourism Timmins

Headwaters Tourism

Tourism Toronto

Tourism Digital Marketing Award

Tourism Toronto

Southwest Ontario Tourism Corporation (RTO 1)

Kingston Accommodation Partners

Tourism Marketing Partnership Award

Tourism Toronto and Air Canada

Tourism Windsor Essex Pelee Island

Toronto Zoo

Travel Media Story Award

Mark Stevens

Arienne Parzei

Colleen Friesen

Travel Media Photography Award

James MacDonald

Colin Field

George Fischer


Culinary Tourism Awards of Excellence (CTA)

Culinary Tourism Leadership Award

Peterborough & the Kawarthas Tourism

Bistro ‘67

360 The Restaurant at the CN Tower

Culinary Tourism Event of the Year

Cultivate: A Festival of Food & Drink

Spirit Tree Estate Cidery Family Day Wassailing Festival

WindsorEats’ Dinner on a Pier

Culinary Tourism Experience Award

The Apple Pie Trail

The Barrels, Bottles & Brews Trail

Stratford Tourism Alliance


Tourism Industry Awards of Excellence (TIAO)

Tourism Innovator of the Year

Escape Manor & Diefenbunker Museum — Escape the Diefenbunker

Great Spirit Circle Trail — Authentic Indigenous Cultural Tours

Waterloo Warbirds

Tourism Event of the Year

Lumina Borealis

Kingsville Folk Music Festival

2016 World Cup of Hockey

Tourism Champion of the Year

Adriano Ciotoli

Deb Dalziel

Patti Kendall

Tourism Employer of the Year

Tourism Toronto

Caesars Windsor

Chelsea Hotel Toronto

Sustainable Tourism Award

Taste Real Local Food Fest

Spirit Tree Estate Cidery

Yours Outdoors

Accessible Tourism Award

Stratford Shakespearean Festival of Canada

Ontario Science Centre

Kingsville Folk Music Festival

Please note that voting for Ontario's Choice Awards is open until October 5.

The Ontario Tourism Awards of Excellence are a celebration of success and recognize those who have made outstanding contributions to Ontario’s tourism industry. Awards are jointly presented by the Tourism Industry Association of Ontario, the Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership Corporation, the Culinary Tourism Alliance and Attractions Ontario across four respective categories: the Tourism Industry Awards of Excellence (TIAO); the Tourism Marketing & Travel Media Awards of Excellence (OTMPC); the Culinary Tourism Awards of Excellence (CTA); and Ontario's Choice Awards (Attractions Ontario).

Thank You to The Globe and Mail for Sponsoring the Tourism Industry Awards of Excellence